

2014 Elections for Algonquin Negotiation Representatives

ELECTION DAY ANNOUNCEMENT

There are sixteen Algonquin Negotiation Representatives (ANRs) representing ten Algonquin Communities who are responsible for negotiating a Treaty between the Algonquins of Ontario and the Governments of Canada and Ontario.

Elections will be held to elect <u>one</u> Algonquin Negotiation Representative for each of the nine Algonquin Communities listed below. This election process is distinct from the general election for Chief and Council of the Algonquins of Pikwakangan First Nation which will be held in late March 2014 in accordance with their Custom Election Code. As with the Algonquins of Pikwakanagan First Nation, each of these ANRs will serve a three-year term. The elections will take place between 8:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m. on the following dates:

COMMUNITY	POLLING STATION	<u>DATE</u>
Kijicho Manito Madaouskarini (Bancroft)	Municipality of Hastings Highlands (Gymnasium) 33011 Highway 62 North, Maynooth, ON	Tuesday, April 22, 2014
Whitney and Area	St. Martin of Tours Church 10 Post Street, Whitney, ON	Wednesday, April 23, 2014
Mattawa/North Bay	Mattawa Municipal Offices 160 Water Street, Mattawa, ON	Thursday, April 24, 2014
Antoine	Mattawa Municipal Offices 160 Water Street, Mattawa, ON	Thursday, April 24, 2014
Greater Golden Lake	Algonquin Consultation Office 31 Riverside Drive, Suite 101, Pembroke, ON	Friday, April 25, 2014
Bonnechere	Algonquin Consultation Office 31 Riverside Drive, Suite 101, Pembroke, ON	Friday, April 25, 2014
Shabot Obaadjiwan	United Church Hall 1040 Elizabeth Street, Sharbot Lake, ON	Saturday, April 26, 2014
Snimikobi	United Church Hall 1040 Elizabeth Street, Sharbot Lake, ON	Saturday, April 26, 2014
Ottawa	Travelodge Hotel Conference Centre Ottawa 1376 Carling Avenue, Ottawa, ON	Sunday, April 27, 2014

Electors will be required to produce government-issued photo identification in order to vote in person. If you do not have government-issued photo identification, please bring the best alternative identification that you have in order to satisfy the Electoral Officer as to your identity. **You may also vote by Mail-In Ballot.** Ballots will be mailed to <u>all</u> Electors. Details to follow.

Nomination Forms for Candidates in each of these Algonquin Communities are available upon request from the Electoral Officer. **The Nomination Period commences January 24, 2014 and the deadline for submitting nominations is 4:00 pm on February 14, 2014.** To request a Nomination Form or to ask questions about the 2014 Elections for ANRs, contact the **Electoral Officer, Vaughn Johnston** at: